Thumbtack Reviews

Show reviews that mention
money service job customer business people leads account customers quote
Showing 293 of 3377 reviews Clear filter
Filter review
New Reviewer

No response to my request for a refund for services not used

Contacted twice. No response. Still no refund applied to my credit card on which the services were charged but not used. I am still waiting over a month. Im very disappointed as this was a substantial amount of money.

User's recommendation: Please don’t cancel a service.

View full review
1 comment
#2105555

Hi Linda, we're sorry to hear you haven't heard back from our team. Please check out this article to learn more about submitting refunds: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund. You're welcome to send us a DM on any social media platform for quick support.

ID
#3166778 Review #3166778 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Naples, Florida
New Reviewer

Contractor customer support

customer support is basically none existent, received a 'canned response' two days after sending an email. Zero follow up. All customer support phone numbers initiate a text message conversation which no one ever joins.

User's recommendation: Generate leads elsewhere, thumbtack used to have decent support; I guess everyone got replaced by useless bots.

View full review
1 comment
#2099246

We're sorry you didn't have a good experience with our support team, we value your feedback. If you still have unanswered questions or concerns, please feel free to send us a direct message on social media for quick support.

ID
#3115091 Review #3115091 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Way thing were when they first started
  • User interface
Cons
  • Deceptive practices
  • Zero support
  • Suspicious leads
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Legal department address

Seeing as your support through email is only able to give an automated reponse, I am now writing her in hopes of reaching an actual person. I was recently sexually assulted by a lead provided by your company. I no longer wish to work from your platform and would like my money refunded to my card in order to cancel my account. At this point now, it has been one week of your company with holding my money. Furthermore, your company has been making money in interest off of my money and also forced me to waste my valuable time in attempting to get a refund. I have contacted a lawyer that will take my case, and he has recommended that I first try every avenue I can find before we pursue legal action.

User's recommendation: Be careful when working for this company. They write everything in such a way that obsolves them from any real responsibility.

View full review
1 comment
#2089230

Hi there, thank you for reaching out. We notified our Trust and Safety Team of your review immediately.

While we didn't receive enough identifiable information in this review to confirm, we're confident we've located your case. Our team contacted you on November 5th, please respond directly to their email or utilize the link in the email to schedule a call with us. We've taken care of the refund and want to ensure we get in touch with you to provide further support.

If you're not able to locate our previous communication, please send our team a private message on any social media channel for the quickest response. We are here to help however we can.

ID
#3048576 Review #3048576 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ladera Ranch, California
Cons
  • Too much competition
  • Deceptive business practices
Loss
$78
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Thumbtack - Hard to get a hold of
Original review updated by user Nov 02, 2021
Im a pro. And I have been trying to get a hold of someone ALL DAY regarding a preload charge that I didnt authorize. The system keeps asking me to either follow a refund process (which did not apply to this type of credit) or write an email to them. Which I did but I...
View full review
View full review
4 comments
#2089090

Thank you for sharing an update, and for working with our team through these concerns. With in-product purchases, pros are notified that these prepaid packages are non-refundable and asked to confirm before moving forward. We hope you'll utilize that balance for new leads, we're happy to help with your profile to ensure you're set up for success and that you'll win jobs.

View more comments
ID
#3032142 Review #3032142 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Convenient way of finding customers
Cons
  • Too many payments
  • Hard to get help from a live customer service
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint if the job done 9/7/21

Installed 220V on a house wired a 120V in the laundry room. Pull out circuit breaker on the main box and messed up the wirings in it. Ive been advised by the builder to put it back on the original set up. Builder sent their contractor to redo and fixed the problem. I had to pay the builders contractor. Per builder, the works that was on 9/7 by Jeff Mayer will cause a fire in the near future.

User's recommendation: None, it’s up to them.

View full review
1 comment
#2080254

Hi Joanna, thank you for taking the time to bring these concerns to our attention. Projects don't often go wrong, but when they do we definitely want to be made aware of the situation and help however we can.

Please report these concerns to our Trust and Safety Team here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern.

Our team will follow up, investigate, and provide next steps. We hope to hear from you soon.

ID
#2983826 Review #2983826 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$700
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Unauthorized charges

I didn't give consent to start my account and I was being charged unknowingly. I would like a refund on those charges
View full review
1 comment
#2075973

Hi Jake, we're sorry to hear about your concerns. We'd like to locate your account and help with your refund request. Please reach out to us directly, through any of our social media platforms, with more information.

ID
#2956986 Review #2956986 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$247
Preferred solution
Full refund
Pricing was OK. Problem is that he kept changing the terms of the contract. We agreed on a date and time for him to come out and give a quote, then after we agreed on time &;;;;;; place he demanded a $50 fee to give quote. When I complained that Ive been getting...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2067482

Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience with us. It looks like this might be a duplicate review.

Please take a look at our response to your original review from September 9th.

We still encourage you to reach out to us directly so that we can help further. We hope to hear from you soon.

ID
#2874664 Review #2874664 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Quincy, Washington

Not recommend !

Hi, thanks for calling me, I don't want anything else with Thumbtack, on August 30th they took $36.00 from my account without being in use, I don't recommend it to anyone, they don't respect breaks and take money from our account.

User's recommendation: Not.

View full review
1 comment
#2067120

We appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We're sorry to see you go, if there's anything we can help with or look into for you, please let us know. We'd be happy to help if you'd like to reach out to us directly through any of our social media channels (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.).

ID
#2846772 Review #2846772 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
New Reviewer

Overcharged

I've been charged over $750 in two months, with cancelled leads, and no refunds. Its bull. I want a refund.

User's recommendation: If your a pro don't use them.

View full review
1 comment
#2065693

Hi Lucas, have you already submitted these refund requests through the platform? If not, please check out this link: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund. If any of the refunds were denied and you have questions, please reach out to our team directly so that we can help.

ID
#2753406 Review #2753406 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Constant charges for leads which go nowhere
Loss
$759
Preferred solution
Full refund

Questions about account

They get you leads, but they should not charge you until you get the Job. Don't like that they charge you regardless, they make money only when you get the Job that's how It should be. It's not fair to the DJs for paying. They should work on that
View full review
1 comment
#2064082

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, we value your feedback so that we can keep improving. Check out our spending guide for tips on winning more jobs: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/spending-guide.

ID
#2744166 Review #2744166 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • I feel like thumbtack stole my money
Loss
$70
Preferred solution
Full refund

My lead is confirmed and paid

My lead I paid for through Thumbtack. The client has hired me. Thumbtack keep putting my lead out there for other pros to put quotes on. I sent them a email through their support team of this problem. Still no reply. This is day 2 more pros are sending quotes out. This is extremely bad for other pros. To think this is a lead when it is NOT.

User's recommendation: Be careful with thumtack.

View full review
1 comment
#2064069

Hi there, we sincerely apologize for the experience you had, but thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please reach out to us on any social media platform with your account information, we'll get this resolved for you.

ID
#2738809 Review #2738809 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Stop advertising my lead to other pros and me all over again. I paid for it. I was hired the client and I agree to do business. I have a mutual agreement on our meeting to start the job.

Unhappy with payment for lead

Lead costs are not aligned with jobs. Paying the same for fixing 1 drawer under cabinet repair and refacing a kitchen is not right. Also, having to go through writing a complaint and waiting for a response is TOO much of a process, I liked talking to a representative. In addition I have to change my distance preference almost every day.for
View full review
1 comment
#2040050

We're sorry for any trouble you've had contacting our team to address your concerns. We always value your feedback on pricing so that we can better understand your needs.

We'd welcome you to reach out to us via one of our social media channels and we can jump in with you to address your concerns and pass your feedback along to our team. We hope to help better your experience in the future.

ID
#2717168 Review #2717168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
La Mesa, California

Scammer

Thumbtack - Scammer
Thumbtack - Scammer
Thumbtack - Scammer
Services was discussed ,amount of services were discussed, money was paid ,confirming the appointment ,the job was scheduled .then I receive a text stating the money wasnt received after telling her that this is all the information she sent. This is what she stated her information .Company didnt deliver what was agreed and services were paid for up front . Scamming *** individuals and business practices

User's recommendation: Don’t get scammed.

View full review
1 comment
#2038397

We take these types of concerns very seriously and we're so sorry to hear that your experience wasn't up to par. We have high expectations of service providers to follow through with commitments and our Trust and Safety team is trained to assist you.

Please feel free to report this concern to our team directly at https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern or contact us over one of our social media channels. We'll be on the lookout for your report.

ID
#2669930 Review #2669930 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pearland, Texas
New Reviewer

Refund payments

Thumbtack - Refund payments
I was charged multiple amounts for leads that I never heard back from or hired by. This is ridiculous - for new pros like me, it was impossible to get hired since I don't have more than 5 reviews and still building my way up. I requested a refund but still nothing. I paid that for no work whatsoever!!!!!!!

User's recommendation: I do not recommend unless you wanna pay them to stay in business.

View full review
1 comment
#2038398

We know it can be frustrating when you're not seeing leads converting into jobs. While we may not be able to guarantee that every lead will hire you, we can help you to see a great return on your investment.

We'd be happy to take some time to go over your account with you and look into any leads you may have questions about. Feel free to reach out to us via social media and we'll see what we can do to help.

ID
#2669540 Review #2669540 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • I liked their website as a professional
  • Volume of leads you get
  • It seems profitable as a start
Cons
  • Service not as represented
Loss
$220
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Discuss billing

I need to start making connections with My leads but its not clear how their billing is set up. I do not know why I should pay for a leas for $89 if the less needs my services. I need this yung resolved ASAP because business as usual needs to start. The leads keep coming very aggressively. Theres no one to answer my questions. They are closed over the holiday. It sucks yo he getting voicemail from customer support.

User's recommendation: Get back in touch with me.

View full review
1 comment
#2038417

We're sorry for any confusion about this lead and we'd be happy to take some time to look into this further with you. Please reach out to us via one of our social media channels and we can dive in with you on your account to see what we can do.

ID
#2648437 Review #2648437 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
Preferred solution
Resolve billing by clarifying system.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article