Sharon S Tem

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No spoken contact with a human at company.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
It is virtually impossible to speak to anyone at Thumbtack. All contact is virtual or by text only. Furthermore, I was directed to a 3rd party outside tech company at the cost of $46 while attempting to "call" Thumbtack. This may be an example of AI going too far. Yes, they have a listed "phone" number but it doesn't work; you will never speak with anyone. I was attempting to inquire about a refund for a service.
View full review
Loss:
$17
Pros:
  • Good idea for bring locals & small biz owners together
Cons:
  • No in person communication

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don't bother attempting to call Thumbtack. They have a "phone" number listed but it is non-operative.d

Anonymous

Class-Action Lawsuit.

For all you Pros out there who have been taken for a ride. I am filing a class-action lawsuit today with my attorney.

Whoever would like to join me please email me at copythatco@***.com. Let's sue the pants off of this scamming organization and try to save our small businesses everybody!!!! I have been working as an office equipment pro for almost 3 months now. At first business was incredible.

The money was rolling in and I moved into a larger office thinking this is my shot to the top. Not! Now I get service calls that are a hundred miles away or more. I am being played.

I also had to load a disposable card to keep them from billing me at will with no explanation. Now I have to sell off most of my copy machines and printers just to pay my business lease.

I have been a copier engineer for 27 years and have never been treated and scammed out of my money like this ever!! The time has come to take Thumbtack down people!!

View full review
358 comments
Dashun Avl

Not feeling like these leads are legit, after canceling our card on file and hiding my business from the app, we were still charged. These may be leads may be fraudulent and there must be a better way to secure the leads!

Mykell Pym

please include me in this Class Action lawsuit. ThumbTack is doing nothing but ripping off Pros!!!

Timothy Zif

Is this still happening?

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Timothy Zif

It does not appear to be, unfortunately. I started an alternative called Rhiz in response to this along with Yelp's issues (watch The Billion Dollar Bully if you haven't yet).

No fake leads, no review issues. It's about consumer-facing networking to get word of mouth online.

Sign up free at rhizmarket dot com and feel free to email me with questions. -former landscaper, Stuart

Andrew M Jzc

I agree

Guest

Ive been with thumbtack going on 6year now they need a backround check they took me off Thumbtack intill the back round gets done its been going on *** month they ober charged me on two leads what can i do they took alot of money from me on robot leads

Guest

What’s the email address?

Guest

I know that Thumbtack is a greedy bunch of *** suckers. I have seen this Pissed Off Customer up for years now, and see no sign of any activity.

other than seeing comments posted periodically. I'm beginning to think that is site is bordering on a scam.

What is your motive? You haven't done anything except look for clients.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2335497

I agree wholeheartedly. I have posted several times asking if there are any updates and got zilch for responses. BTW, i was kicked off this forum, so I am posting this as a guest.

Guest

How do I join the class action? Your email address is blocked on this site

View more comments (357)
Marie I Sbm

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Thumbtack Pro Professinal Scammer

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Thumbtack Pro Professinal Scammer
Updated by user Sep 10, 2023

I contacted Fairclaims.com to ask for Arbitration has my Thumbtack.com Legal agreement states is what I am agreeing is required of me. I have a written email from Fairclaims.com that their legal agreement with Thumbtack.com only allows Thumbtack.com to register a...

Original review Aug 10, 2023
\I simply requested a Solar Equipment review for a possible malfunction, which warranty company would work with a legal Arizona Solar Business and I pay labor costs. Easy I would give an estimate to the well known warranty company, they would approve deliver necessary equipment and I would pay the labor costs.
Instead Thumbtack referred a criminal who did unaujthorfized and never requested Electrical work because it was an emergency fire risk that I was in danger since I am Federally Recognized Medical Homebound Disabled Person.

He said he was Solar but also a licensed Afrizona Electrician since he did the work to save my life I owed $390.00. Not what I expected but I thought Thumbtack recomended Pro I paid not expecting Thumbtack to sell my private information to a criminal,
I have been communicating in writing with Thumbtack since 6.18.2023 proof that the company is not a legal solar company or electrical company, wrfitten proof of the Thumbtack Pro utilizing the Thumbtack Platform to perform fraud on me and professional Legal Arizona Electrician who I am willing pay the Legal Electrician not me, $1,500 repairs of unauthorized electrical damages.
Thumbtack Sujpport in writing acknoledged and stated valdated my complaint as true no disagreement there. Thumbtack,com Support written statement is Thumbtack.com is a neutral party, Though they haven't provided documentation and I can't find any public infofrmation, IK was responsible for determing if a Thumbtack recomended Professional Busiess was really a Professional Business or a criminal. Thumbtack.com written statement was the criminal would give ne the $390.00 refund if I signed legal waivers provided by the criminal releasing him from any financial resposibility of his criminal damages to my property because he, the un qualified illegal electritian, had decicded that the qualified legal electrician was in error not him and Thumbtack has no control of illegal activity on Thumbtack.com Platform, I can't find and haven't been provided documentation I was responsible to monitor illegal activity on Thumbtack.conm Platform
Thumbtack.com acknowsledge and didn;t disagree illigal activity veing performed by a Thumbtack Pro on Thumbtack.com Platform.

8/10/2023Thumbtack.com iks still profiting selling tghe criminal leads for his illegal company, the criminal has my $390.00 and according to his Thumbtack.com website page not only is still fraudalent advertising but did a 20,000.00 illegal solar job for a Thumbtack,com customer who I hope doesn't have any issues because he has no construction license or construction insurance as requied by Arizona Public Law for any building modifications over $1,000.00.
Glad the criminals Thumbtack and the illegal business Mesh Bros Enterprises are still profiting where I, the Thumbtack Customer have to still have my solar equipment reviewed, my original request, but I was provided unexpected expensive financial responsibilityh of $1,500.00 to pay for illegal activity by Mesh Bros Enterprises.
I did not receive services requested and my home was damaged $2,000.00 by criminal activity because I used Thumbtack.com as opposed to other referral companies where I wasn't unknowingly put in a situation of a criminal approaching me. I, Marie Ishol. Publicly swear this is my true experience and all documentation has been submitted to Arizona Attorney Generals Office to review my claim of Thumbtack.com Fraudalant Advertising.

Thumbtack.com did not inform me prior to my legal agreement with Thumbtack.com I was giving Thumbtack,com permission to sell my private information to a known criminal. The illegal solar company did not find publicly I wanted a free estimate for possible solar equipment failure, Mesh Bros Enterprises were only aware of me because I agreed for Thumbtack to sell that private information to Thumbtack.com's Private Professional Network.Stat away
View full review
Loss:
$2000
Cons:
  • Sold my prfivate inforfnation tgo a criminal swho robbedd me

Preferred solution: Refund and redpairs of damage b y criminal actgvity

User's recommendation: Avoid

Nicole C Cgf

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer

Refund

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Thumbtack - Refund
I paid $200 for leads and was told I would start receiving them as soon as I paid my $200,,but I havent received any leads and no one has responded to my messages.this company isnt for me and I want my money back,,I feeel like I was scammed and its not fair because that was money that I borrowed from a friend
View full review
Loss:
$200

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do your research first

Anonymous
map-marker Somers, Connecticut

Hired a contractor from Thumb Tack and they did a horrible job plus ruin my existing pool stamped concrete deck, they want me to chase the contractor down because they can’t find them

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They made a mess plus ruin my existing stamped concrete pool deck and the also ruin my new pool storage box by getting cement on it that will not come off, they got clumps of wet cement on my concrete deck in many places, they did not use form boards to contain poured cement which ended flowing 3 inches thick
View full review

User's recommendation: PLEASE beware they let any contractors on their site, when something goes wrong as it did with my service they can no longer find the contractor and expect me to chase them down

Jaqueline C Tvz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My account was deactivated because it was liked to an account that was removed and I paid $136 and then it was deactivated they cant help because they have to get the owner to the other account to talk to them. And Mark rudely disconnected my chart when I asked for the phone number to call and see if they actually cant do nothing about it I have the chats saved and I also have screenshots when he didnt want to help and just disconnected the chat when I told him I Ned the number
View full review
Loss:
$136
Pros:
  • Good leads
Cons:
  • Deactivated account for no reason
  • Customer service

Preferred solution: Get my account recovered after I paid to get leads

SHREE L

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago - Image 2
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago - Image 3
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago - Image 4
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago - Image 5
For you to report to thumbtack what just happened a few hours ago - Image 6
Original review May 08, 2023

I decided to hire a private investigator on Thumbtack Donald basically told me that thumbtack told him that I was looking for a private investigator and I told him yeah and basically told him that the person I live with think the lawsuit against me and murdered her mom to get what was mine basically told him I had a vision that my grandma came and told me something she did for me and that's why she got murdered he on the phone saying she ain't got nothing to gain from murdering her mom I know she does what is mine told him some more stuff too about what happened a few years ago or somebody sent me something proven to me that they know my grandma and that they were working together and I had to have one conversations with him and his assistant basically telling him how somebody wanted me to sell myself for 10 million dollars that's all on thumbtack that i said this he even a knowledge that she was greedy asked me does the wicked Ever Rest no they don't I asked it why not just tell me about the building about our inheritance the real truth behind it he acknowledged it she was greedy and having a bunch of conversations I was getting ready to tell him I found a glass building I told him about he hasn't even been responding to my messages anymore basically ignoring me I told thumbtack this that I think my private investigator is ignoring me they cut my conversation off they even been accused of erasing other customers bad reviews about this company called Wyoming Detective Bureau.com and after I was fed up last night basically told him I know it's late and you probably don't want to hear nothing I have to say I don't care because you begin to be worse than the person I live with and it's true you tell your assistant to unblock her number I thought I don't told you how somebody *** my phone and the CEOs phone while I was talking to pretend to be him trying to burn his business to the ground because you want me to *** even told him Donald that I told loan analyst how they had both of our phones and even called my phone company and told them about it told this all to him you tell your assistant to unblock her number and now you won't even speak to me anymore if you never speak to me ever again I'm a know that I had no business giving you my money in the first place and you can continue to ignore me I'll just report you and thumbtack to Consumers so I got a phone call this morning from his assistant Tammy basically telling me that I don't think you understand the process we charge$100 every hour and that I caused them$3,300 and $33 and that they charge for these phone calls you didn't tell me that I asked him for the link on where he receives his payments to they send me the link so I can pay my $100 on there weeks ago and he never gave it to me not all of a sudden I caused them $3,333 you wouldn't even give me the link to pay for it you took my payment over the phone and then he messaged me today saying that my office call pick up your phone and I'm like don't play that game if you had kept your promise like you said when you told me you asked me yourself as it's safe to say that she got your phone hacked I'm like yes she was the one who bought the phone and the phone service too and basically told me that he was going to help me get rid of this whatever it was on my phone and show me ways to protect my devices and he never did and then told me this morning that he was going to mail my money back to me in the mailbox the same mailbox we share basically telling me he's going to tip her off and tell her I hired him I told it to him in a review I don't know what that client was thinking saying that you're discreet and you promised me that she wouldn't even know I hired you and called him a snake because it's true I accused her a murderer to him and now he's going to tip her off and let her know I hired him the same mailbox we share he going to let her know I did it all because I turned to report him to y'all and done that too he promised me that she wouldn't know I hired him and now she don't know how he looks he's going to basically tip her off and let her know I hired him he's going to refund me my money he said I'm going to see my money but I'm going to see it in the mailbox the same mailbox mean the person we was supposed to be investigating we share this mailbox and he told me when I told him this we're reporting you to thumbtack and I'm like report what exactly that you're not discreet that you're a liar liar pants on fire did you tip up perpetrators and let them know that your client s are investigating them through you and I accused her of murder to you he wasn't going to do anything he promised and I'm like you can just put the money back on the card you got it from and I don't know what Thumbtack is going to do whenever this review of mine accusing him of murder as well basically telling me I'm going to tip her off look for your check in the mail he's a monster and this is who they got on his part on their platform someone who threatens customers telling them I'm going to tip off the person off on what you tell them now I know I said I was going to let you know whats going on and what thumbtack decision they sided with the murderer I evaluated the situation myself and said to myself that they don't ask for anybody social security number so you're not as protected as you think you are when someone gets on Thumbtack and threatens your life and tells you that they're going to tip off the person you live with on what you told them by sending your check in the mail I kind of knew they was going to side with him I knew they was going side with Donald cyphers I evaluated to myself that didn't even ask for the social security number to make sure the person's never been in jail for murder or threatening to commit murder but I'm talking is not for customers you're not safe if they're siding with murderers they terminated my account and told me this morning that they closed my account in that the decision wasn't a light decision yes it was I knew thumbtack was going to start with him when I found out they don't ask for your social security number so they don't care to verify if you ever been to jail before and that is my update for today

View full review
Pros:
  • We have many categories that can help you with your problem
Cons:
  • Hire murderers who burn their business to the ground threatening customers lives

Preferred solution: for this Donald to get kicked off that platform because he threatened my life and I know he done it to other people too if he threatened the tip off the person I live with about me hiring him kick him off the platform thumbtack to do

User's recommendation: I already know thumbtack doesn't answer any of their clients on this platform as well I don't know what they going to do about this they might not do nothing they might just take his side so my recommendation to this I don't know what to say until they make that decision I'll be letting you know about later but right now I don't know I don't know what Thumbtack is going to do but my recommendation if anybody is thinking to hire Wyoming detective Bureau office I'm through thumbtack don't do it I don't know what they going to do I wouldn't recommend you to be a customer with someone who just threatened my life after I done told him but the person I live with did

Erica A Moe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Owner does not handle consumer questions well. I ended up canceling the job because I couldn’t clarify with the owner the job being completed.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I called after receiving a reminder 2 days prior to the scheduled job date that I hired D&A Tip Top Tree service to do. The owner clearly got upset with me because Im questioning the service being performed.

I scheduled trimming trees back to the fence line and the reminder reflected tree removal - taking the tree down. My concern is the tree is not in my yard but wanted to ensure we were on the same page prior to the work being done. For some reason the owner got mad and accused me of wanting to get the work done for free by nitpicking at every little thing. She yelled at me and when I asked why was she yelling she blamed it on being deaf.

Asked me had I ever been deaf before and said she was disabled. Not sure what that had to do with the service. She said well what do you want me to do I can offer you a discount but were not removing any tree. When I responded I think I need to reschedule for another time and she threatened me to say well you signed a contract now I can be nice and give you a discount but if youre going to be nasty (she was the one yelling) Ill see you in court!

She hung up on me. I would not recommend this company. I believe they are desperate and threatening me with unethical business practices. After she hung up she sent me an invoice for the full amount to force me to hire them to do the job.

No where in there contract does it mention Id be fully responsible for the job if I changed my mind.

Why would I want to hire a company talking to me like a piece of dirt, an owner unable to maintain a level of professionalism Im used to and a company that threatens me. Very concerning busy practices let the buyer beware.

View full review
Loss:
$700
Pros:
  • I get pros to reach out to me timely for jobs neede
Cons:
  • I do not have background checks on people i hire

Preferred solution: I want an apology and for them to discount the invoice at 100%. I canceled within the timeframe for the job they were doing.

User's recommendation: Buyer Beware

Kriss Djk

Account deactivated for no reason

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Worst leads company I ve ever worked with, can not reach anyone, they deactivate your account for no reason, their leads lead to nothing, they don't refund leads do not belive their claims never got a refund even when customers are fake 0 customer service don't
View full review
Loss:
$1000
Pros:
  • Worthless
Cons:
  • Worthless company

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not use this company their a rip off

Ashton G Fez

Refund

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Save your money this place is a scam they will steal your money and you wont get it back Ive tried several times to get my money after deactivating my account and nothing no calls bs emails run away
View full review
Loss:
$200

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Run far away

Resolved
Kimberly W Rtd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Morganton, North Carolina

Resolved: Help me!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
No one has helped its been a week..!!! Im not sure who to contact but it would be nice to hear back from someone
View full review
Angelia Z

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Because it's says I have payment due that I don't

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I can't get on my app and get work because it says that I owe money for a job I never end up with . please unblock my account.thank you have a blessed day.
View full review

Preferred solution: Unblock my account

Resolved
Yamirel H

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Charlotte, North Carolina

Resolved: Reactivar cuenta

Updated by user Aug 29, 2023

Activation.

Original review Aug 29, 2023
Mi cuenta se desactivó, solitario dura 3 días y no sí la razón, pero necesito reactivarla para empezar a hacer trabajos por este medio, tengo varios oficios y personas que trabajan conmigo, necesito ayuda para activarla urgentemente, necesito hacer trabajo de techado, construcción, pinturas--
View full review

Auctions and Marketplaces Expert Talks

How to Shop Online Safely | Online Shopping Tips

May 28, 2021

How safe is online shopping? Pissed Consumer interviewed Nathan Grant, a Senior Credit Industry Analyst with Credit Card Insider about safe online payments and how to avoid payment fraud. In this video, Nathan gives tips about online shopping, safety, and what to ensure when paying for products and services online.

Read full article
Nathan Grant
Nathan Grant

Nathan Grant, a Senior Credit Industry Analyst with Credit Card Insider. Nathan specializes in credit cards and online payments.

Chance Ktf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Jacksonville, Florida

Become a pro

Your number did not go through I want to find out about your service I need someone to give me a call pl
View full review
Kaeden Jac

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Birmingham, Alabama

Instant booking

Youre trying to force instant booking in MY COMPANY. This is NOT thumbtacks company. Its Mine. You can NOT book a contractor for anything. You have no clue what my schedule is like. There are MANY great companies that are not going for this
View full review
David M Qch

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Shreveport, Louisiana

Need to be contacted

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I meant trying to get a hold of someone from Thumbtack for now a month and a half. Cant get a hold of anybody cant message Joe cant text you because nobody ever responds and Im not paying no more money until I get someone to call me.
View full review

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article