Thumbtack Reviews

Show reviews that mention
money service job customer business people leads account customers quote
Filter review
Most helpful review
For all you Pros out there who have been taken for a ride. I am filing a class-action lawsuit today with my attorney. Whoever would like to join me please email me at copythatco@***.com. Let's sue the pants off of this scamming organization and try to save our small...
View full review
View full review
326 comments
#2097352

My gripe is that Thumbtack is supporting illegal contractors. I pay a lot of money to operate in NYC as well as spending a lot of time updating licenses, Using NYC's 12 page Contract, having my men Osha certified, Paying for Disability, Compensation , General Liability and most of all Roofing Insurance which is very expensive.

Too many illegal contractors are already giving legit contractors a bad name. We don't need web sites who promote so called HANDYMEN who are unlicensed and uninsured.

And that goes also for all the firemen who think their pillars of the community and can work without licenses and Insurance also. How do I join a class action against Thumbtack???

View more comments
ID
#1249701 Review #1249701 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Reply to Taisa’s

Reply to Taisas I have customers new customers with direct leads contacting me for work But I have in my calendar that Im booked lately Ii have been requesting for a refund and hasnt been getting it back cant you tell me what Im doing wrong
View full review
ID
#3107233 Review #3107233 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Loss
$93
New Reviewer

Billing

I am being charge for services that I have not used. If this is not resolved soon I will close my account permanently. I have tried to reach out to Customer Service with no response.

User's recommendation: You will be overbilled if you use this service.

View full review
ID
#3106704 Review #3106704 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hollywood, Florida

Reactivating my account

My account was deactivated because of a unsatisfied customer I called thumbtack to find out why my account had need deactivated. Even though I had gotten an email with the customer concerns I couldnt read the entire email to address the concerns. Thumbtack is in the process of having the email and link resent to me so that I can respond properly to the customer and have my account reactivated.

User's recommendation: Respond to customer concerns in a more timely manner.

View full review
ID
#3106384 Review #3106384 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Granger, Indiana

I need to talk to an agent

Thumbtack - I need to talk to an agent
No response at all from thumbtack, they make it impossible to talk to a person. The only option given is to text, which no one replied. They charged my card $37 for a so called perfect match that I did not pick. They take the luxury to pick a lead for you and charge your account without the client deciding whether they want that lead or not, thats a complete rip off. Will never again use thumbtack. Take people money for bogus leads thats given to 3 other contractors and make it impossible to try to get that money by not making a live agent available

User's recommendation: Don’t recommend.

View full review
ID
#3100824 Review #3100824 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Fraud

I was scammed for $510 from a contractor I hired on Thumbtack. They did nothing to help me. They also continued to allow this same contractor advertise on their website.
View full review
1 comment
#2097382

Hi Karen, it sounds like you've already reported these concerns to our team and you might've been working with a specialist on your case. Please respond directly to our emails with any additional concerns or questions so that we can best assist you. If this isn't correct and you haven't been in touch with us yet, please report the concerns here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern.

ID
#3092703 Review #3092703 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Memphis, Tennessee
Loss
$510
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

737703****

For some reason they keep deactivating my account for no reason I am getting mad trying to grow business but they keep deactivating my account for no reason followed all the rules and everything but this keeps happening I need help ASAP And my background is clear and good I need to talk to a representative

User's recommendation: Need help they keep deactivating my account.

View full review
1 comment
#2097381

Hi Allia, we're sorry to hear about this, that's really frustrating. We'd like to locate your account and help however we can. Please send us a direct message on social media and we'll help you there.

ID
#3087952 Review #3087952 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Overcharging my account

You never even answered me so my problem still exists. This is ridiculous no help at all with my account

User's recommendation: Do not use them.

View full review
1 comment
#2094733

We're sorry to hear you didn't get the support you're looking for, we want to help. Please send us a direct message on any social media channel (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.) and we'll locate your account in an effort to address any questions you might have and fully resolve your concerns.

ID
#3083295 Review #3083295 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
This mover, Manual Assembly was over 7 hours late to begin our move. I had to initiate communications (only 2 texts in those 7 hours) to know the status. He said his truck broke, but his lack of customer communications is not good for anyone.This company does NOT...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2094730

Hi Carole, we're concerned by the details you shared and definitely want to step in and help with a resolution. Please share more details here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern, our Trust and Safety Team will review your case and reach out to you directly, within 2-3 business days.

We'll work to help you and the pro you hired reach a resolution, and determine how our team can step in to help as well. We're sorry to hear about this frustrating experience, we hope to get in touch soon.

ID
#3081679 Review #3081679 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Loss
$900
Preferred solution
Full refund

Reactivate my account

They deactivated my account for violating terms of service. They are accusing me of creating an erroneous account in addition to the original I signed up to use. I have no idea how my account got linked to some bogus account that they are accusing me of adding. I still have money on credit with them and they have stated they are not reopening my account. I'm beyond frustrated as I have no idea how to fix a problem that I didn't create. I suggested the problem is internal with their software and to fix the problem then reinstate my account.

User's recommendation: don't sign on to use their service.

View full review
1 comment
#2094721

Thanks for letting us know about your experience, we'd like to look further into this and help. Please send us a DM on social media (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter) so that we can locate the accounts mentioned and determine if they'll be reconsidered, so that we can hopefully help you move forward on Thumbtack. We hope to hear from you soon.

ID
#3079291 Review #3079291 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ellenwood, Georgia
New Reviewer

A thumbtack professional let someone *** my account

Someone changed my account information and I want it back to mine. I talked with a professional that said he fixed it and he did not

User's recommendation: Professional should ask permission from person to change information.

View full review
1 comment
#2093499

Hi Anthony, the information you've shared is concerning. Other users aren't able to edit or change someone's account information, only those with access to their account via email and password.

We'd be more than happy to look into this for you and ensure your account is set up the way you want it. Please reach out to us on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter for additional help.

ID
#3075628 Review #3075628 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Aylett, Virginia
Cons
  • Very pooor service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Deactivated for no reason

didn't solve the issue .. please have someone call me .. please please... already I'm suppose to have someone contact me but no one did .. thank you
View full review
1 comment
#2093498

Thanks for reaching out to us here. While we aren't able to gather your contact information from this review, we do want to hear more about your concerns and help however we can. For quick support, please send us a DM on any social media platform.

ID
#3075498 Review #3075498 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I am very distressed over a situation with Thumbtack. I understand there needs to be a background check and I am OK with that. However, I was sent a notification for a background check to an email I dont use anymore. You see, I had called Thumbtack several years ago to...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2093496

Hi Jocelyn, we're very disappointed to hear about your recent experience, and want to provide direct support as soon as possible. Our team would like to look further into the accounts you mentioned and see if your main account can be reconsidered.

We appreciate and value the amount of time and effort you've put into building your profile on Thumbtack and helping customers.

Please send us a direct message on either Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram for the quickest support. We hope to hear from you soon and improve your experience.

ID
#3074689 Review #3074689 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Thumbtack Profile
Cons
  • Treatment of pros
  • No info regarding quotes sent
Loss
$250
Preferred solution
I would like to get my account reactivated and credits for deactivating my account by sending the background notification to an account THUMBTACK was supposed to deactivate. I have lost business.
New Reviewer

Problem with customer

Customer won't pay and now is just threatening me. He contradicts himself. He gave me a great review and now he is just ripping me off and is bad talking me.
View full review
1 comment
#2093492

We're so sorry to hear this, John. We definitely want to step in and help work out a resolution between you and your customer. Please share additional details with us here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern and our team will contact you directly within 2-3 business days to best help.

ID
#3072910 Review #3072910 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Olathe, Kansas
Preferred solution
Nothing

The LEADS I receive and other stuff

yes, im an apparent PRO videographer on THUMBTACK. that said, I have real issue with the fact, that IF a potential LEAD contacts me for further info? and after contacting them back, IF.... they send me a simple NO thanks? yet thumbtack ends up charging me "out the nose"? for a simple NO thanks response? Seriously? unreal! and THAT'S way, I haven't PITCHED ANY inquire out of hundreds of requests for service. further something is very wrong when thumbtack doesn't even provide a CS ICON to directly contact CS. seriously?that I was forced to GOOGLE our damn email? seriously. whats...with that!?

User's recommendation: Please give production companies a chance and accept fair prices. It's only the fair thing to do.

View full review
1 comment
#2093490

Thank you for sharing your experience, we'll be sure to pass along this lead pricing feedback to the right teams. You're always welcome to contact us in-product about these concerns by requesting a refund for the lead, you can learn more here: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund. We'd be happy to directly assist you, feel free to send us a DM on social media for further support.

ID
#3065395 Review #3065395 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

My account

They deactivated my account for no reason didn't even tell me took my leads i paid for away they wont call me
View full review
1 comment
#2092300

We'd be happy to help provide more details and resolve your concerns. Please send us a direct message on any social media platform and we'll look further into this for you.

ID
#3062928 Review #3062928 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Alexandria, Virginia

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article