Thumbtack Reviews

Show reviews that mention
money service job customer business people leads account quote customers
Filter review

Unhappy with payment for lead

Lead costs are not aligned with jobs. Paying the same for fixing 1 drawer under cabinet repair and refacing a kitchen is not right. Also, having to go through writing a complaint and waiting for a response is TOO much of a process, I liked talking to a representative. In addition I have to change my distance preference almost every day.for
View full review
1 comment
#2040050

We're sorry for any trouble you've had contacting our team to address your concerns. We always value your feedback on pricing so that we can better understand your needs.

We'd welcome you to reach out to us via one of our social media channels and we can jump in with you to address your concerns and pass your feedback along to our team. We hope to help better your experience in the future.

ID
#2717168 Review #2717168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
La Mesa, California
New Reviewer

Lead charges

I scheduled an appt 26 miles away and you charged me $48+. The customer canceled my appt and hired someone else.
View full review
ID
#2715573 Review #2715573 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE SERVICE TO VENDORS

I get contacted by leads from different states where I cannot serve. I get charged by Thumbtack for being contacted by leads I cannot serve. I try to request refund but nothing happens. I try to contact customer service, it keeps sending me back to "automated" text service by saying that a live person will be chatting with you. There is no way for the vendor to break cycle as the automated chat keeps sending you to the same page where you originally requested refund and nothing happened. requested refun buut notheirn happenedthe

User's recommendation: DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THUMBTACK.

View full review
1 comment
#2039754

We're sorry for any trouble you had communicating with our team about your refund. We have live agents ready to help via our social media channels and we welcome you to reach out with any questions about your refund status.

We also want to be sure you're getting leads that match your services. We can take some time to go over your account with you when you reach out and hope to help better your experience.

ID
#2715024 Review #2715024 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • All the fraudulent acts
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Full refund
Havent had a Response from thumbtack on the issue and employees not having a background check and owners having others run background check for them
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2039332

We're sorry for any trouble you've had hearing back from our team about your request. You can always contact us via one of our social media channels and we're happy to jump in with you to answer any questions you have.

We offer free background checks to all of the pros on Thumbtack. Only the owner of the account can take a background check and we'll apply a badge to their account if they've passed.

If you have any other questions about background checks and our policies, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We'll be happy to help!

ID
#2709795 Review #2709795 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

Thumbtack - Complaint
I hired Darius moye of Dream home solutions back January to remodel my bathroom. He totally destroyed it. I had to have another contractor out and redo my entire bathroom. I brought all new tub... sink and toilet. I had to rebuy all because he did not know how to install. I had a full working bathroom before he started and ended up with a non working bathroom plus water damages...i am trying to locate him to take him to court. He is a disgrace to any home improvement business.

User's recommendation: Avoid this awful company like Covid.

View full review
ID
#2708195 Review #2708195 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dallas, Texas
New Reviewer

Moving

Im preparing to move to Texas. 414 N. Glencrest St. White Oak TX 75693. Id like to move my account to the area and see what I get. I have too much business here to use more leads until Ive moved.
View full review
ID
#2699303 Review #2699303 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Na.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refund fictitious charges

I set up on my account 3 days ago with Thumbtack that my services based business is located in Texas, Ive been charged for a Direct lead match once from your customer in Connecticut (Edwina Waller), and another customer of yours, David Gleeshan, in Massachusetts. I cannot service your customers outside of my state of TX as clients outside of DFW area are too far away for me &; arent beneficial to my business. I cant reach anyone with thumbtack to resolve these invalid charges on my Visa.
View full review
1 comment
#2038391

We're sorry for any confusion that may have happened with your leads. We'd love to look into our preferences further with you to see how we can help narrow down your search area and get you the right leads.

Please feel free to reach out to us via one of our social media channels and we'll jump right in with you.

We can also look into your previous charges at that time. We hope to hear from you soon.

ID
#2698608 Review #2698608 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Very difficult to get a refund
  • Charge for customers outside of preferences
  • Cannot reach thumbtack by phone
Loss
$35
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Did not sugn up need the hartassment g9ne

You billed me i dont want the service. I Never used a lead. The system will not allow me to sign in, I'm through with my business. Your system says i owe you money. Nope....
View full review
ID
#2696578 Review #2696578 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Full refund

Advertising

*** you lazy mfers!!! You cant take 1 minute to talk to me after being a customer for over 5 years. Looks like the lazy employees are running this company. Management better do their job and service their customers. Closed my acct because you wont help me. Absolutely ridiculous
View full review
1 comment
#2038392

We're so sad to hear if you felt our team wasn't provided the quality service we always aim to. We ask that you reach out to us in a private message over one of our social media channels so that we can work to resolve your concerns and better your experience. We look forward to speaking with you further.

ID
#2696529 Review #2696529 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Gastonia, North Carolina

Not Hired refund

Hi I've been charged for 2 leads of jobs that they didn't respond to my messages in Thumbtack or my phone calls. I'd like a refund
View full review
ID
#2688359 Review #2688359 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
New Reviewer

I am a pro at lost my account password

I have lost my password and cant get into my account. So I Need to prove identity and recover my account.
View full review
ID
#2682421 Review #2682421 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
My account back
New Reviewer

Maje arrangements

Cant get no jobs thats why Im trying to speak to a live agent how can I cant get no help this really bothers me
View full review
ID
#2679647 Review #2679647 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Client refused to pay for services

Horrific client refused to pay for services and left a 1-star review. He is awful. The job was done so well, but he couldnt afford it. Please remove this asap.
View full review
ID
#2676251 Review #2676251 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$375
Preferred solution
Full refund

1I need talk to customer service

Please go *** yourself 100 times please go *** yourself 100 time please go *** yourself please go *** yourself
View full review
ID
#2674078 Review #2674078 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada

I need talk to customer service

I need to know why my account is deactivated I simply just want to use this website. I am only adding words here to put 100 symbols on there so this stupid website will actually

User's recommendation: Don't do it.

View full review
ID
#2674073 Review #2674073 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada