This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Thumbtack - How to delete or update a review
Thumbtack - How to delete or update a review
Thumbtack - How to delete or update a review
Update by user Jan 01, 2022

There has been no updates to add

Original review posted by user Jan 01, 2022
Via Thumbtack, I hired a "pro" who claimed to be an "artist", Emma Gilbert Art (I use the word pro and artist lightly). The project I hired Emma Gilbert for was basic, use a stencil and paint to stencil a design on three small arches in...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3219957 Review #3219957 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hoover, Alabama
Cons
  • No help from customer service
  • No transparency between thumbtack or emma harris art
  • No customer service
Preferred solution
That Emma Harris Art and Thumbtack be honest about reviews. Emma Harris Art stop whining

Rob pilfer extort all they can from people just trying to make it!

I have been on thumbtack since 2019 and in that time things have gone downhill very fast just this week alone Ive been hit for hundreds of dollars Im a small One-man business trying to start a new company Im in on this class action lawsuit
View full review
1 comment
#2113079

We'd like to get in touch with you directly to review your refund requests and learn more about your feedback and experience while using Thumbtack, in an effort to turn things around. Please send us a direct message on any social media platform for a quick follow up and direct support.

ID
#3211184 Review #3211184 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Over charged for parts and labor

Top Dollar Plumbing charged $130.00 to replace an angle stop to a toilet. Charged 15.00 for the angle stop which can be purchased at Lowes for $8.75, he says he only gets parts through a wholesaler. The owner, Keith who refused to give me his last name charged $115.00 for 30 minutes of labor to do the job. Strongly recommend you do not use the company. Keith was very defensive and unprofessional when we finally spoke on the phone.

User's recommendation: Do not use this company, you will likely be overcharged.

View full review
1 comment
#2113075

Thank you for letting us know about this. Please provide more details and your contact information here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern so that our Trust and Safety Team can get in touch with you directly to help work things out.

ID
#3208554 Review #3208554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$106
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Payment

TO WHO IS MAY CONCERN, I HAVE BLOKED DAYS I DID NOT WANT BECAUSE OF THE LEADS I GET NEVER REPLY BACK OR CALL BAK AND YOU ARE ALL JUST WASTING MY MONEY. BUT I AM STILL BEING CHARGED FOR LEADS WHEN I SPECIFICALLY BLOCKED THE DAYS OFF.

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE THIS PLACE.

View full review
1 comment
#2106998

Hi Kevin, thanks for reaching out about these concerns. It sounds like your preferences may not be set correctly, we'd be happy to take another look for you. Please feel free to send us a DM on any social media platform so that we can assist you directly.

ID
#3179912 Review #3179912 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Unsatisfied

Thumbtack is drawing funds from my account. Have attempted to contact them. Unable to get an actual person. Says they will text me... sends text saying sorry we missed you! This was not the problem 2 years ago. Thumbs down from me
View full review
1 comment
#2105037

Hi Angelina, we hear how frustrating that must be to not feel appropriately supported. We can definitely take a look into payments and the concerns you mentioned in your review. Please send us a direct message on any social media platform with your email address or phone number associated to your account and we'll look into this for you.

ID
#3163474 Review #3163474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Pros
  • Question process was thorough
Cons
  • Customer window shopping but costs pro
Loss
$70
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
Hi, how can I join your class action lawsuit? I have been a top pro for over 5 years, and I have built a reputation for being one of the best exterminators they have in New York city! Lately they have been the monopolizing the ranking on the website and I'm ranking...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2105036

Hi Luis, we take these concerns seriously and would like to look further into your account and ranking when it comes to search results. We understand how hard pros work to maintain a great ranking and get in front of more customers, so our team would be more than happy to take a deeper look into this for you and also provide insights for how to improve your ranking. Please send us a direct message on any social media platform (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook) and we'll get back to you quickly with more information and support.

ID
#3160242 Review #3160242 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Queens, New York

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I have used thumbtack for years. They have sewn up the market, monopolized the online agency experience. They cheat professionals with their algorithms.Find an alternative
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2105033

We're sorry to hear this feedback. If there's anything we can do to improve your experience, or if you have more specific feedback to share, please feel free to contact us directly. We want to wish you the best moving forward.

View more comments
ID
#3157798 Review #3157798 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thumbtack Job Bidding
Pros
  • Seamless contact with new clients
Cons
  • Distance algorithms do not work
  • Does not refund cash for cash
  • So the company charges you indiscriminately
Loss
$25
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

I need to talk to a customer service agent

You took down the phone number for pro to contact you through.you charge for bogus leads. Dont care about your pros

User's recommendation: Put the phone number back up.

View full review
1 comment
#2105031

Hi Brian, we're sorry to hear you feel this way, we'd like to turn your experience around. You can text us at: 415-299-6398 from 6am to 6pm Monday through Friday MST for direct support, or you're welcome to send us a DM on social media. We hope to hear from you directly soon.

ID
#3154129 Review #3154129 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Loss
$800
Preferred solution
Full refund

Haven’t spoken to someone in five

Havent spoken to someone in five months very unprofessional I want a full refund Ive never been treated so bad in my life. Bruno
View full review
1 comment
#2103417

We're sorry to hear about your experience, we'd like to gather more feedback to better understand how we can improve. Please submit all refund requests here: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund.

ID
#3153591 Review #3153591 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lawrence, Massachusetts
New Reviewer
You guys a horrible and have terrible customer service. Just horrible, I've been trying to get a hold of them for months. User's recommendation: No. Horrible customer service
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#2103413

We're disappointed to hear you never received support. For quick support, please send us a direct message on any social media channel, we hope to hear from you soon.

View more comments
ID
#3144518 Review #3144518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
My account will mot edit and I'm getting charged with my permission.

The person we hired was not qualified

Thumbtack - The person we hired was not qualified
Thumbtack - The person we hired was not qualified
Thumbtack - The person we hired was not qualified
Thumbtack - The person we hired was not qualified
The installer put up wallpaper and did a terrible job and had no clue how to do the work. It caused 1500 in paper to need to be thrown away and also another 250 to pay someone to remove the work he had done.

User's recommendation: Don’t hire this giug.

View full review
1 comment
#2103405

We're sorry to hear this, we want to step in and help. Please provide more information here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern and our Trust and Safety Team will reach out to you directly. We look forward to getting in touch and providing a resolution for these concerns.

ID
#3138197 Review #3138197 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

False leads

I do not know how and I do not know how to prove it but I know that this company is charging for false leads. They charge me $60 for a lead no one ever responded the phone number was invalid they say theyre charging me for a connection but no connection with me its just a false lead I should not have to pay for things like this this is not the only circumstance and I cannot be the only one this company needs to be investigated

User's recommendation: Don’t use them they charge a fortune for leads and don’t get the sources.

View full review
1 comment
#2103403

Hi Allison, thank you for sharing this feedback with us. It's important to us that pros receive quality leads, which is why the project request process is thorough for customers. If you find any concerning leads that you'd like us to look further into, please report that information here: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern.

ID
#3134163 Review #3134163 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No actual response from customer service
  • Not real leads
  • Not good service
Loss
$60
Preferred solution
Full refund
Sometimes times a customer will be looking for a contractor but then chooses not to use you for whatever reason and you still have to pay thumbtack. you can't ever speak to anyone on the phone from thumbtack it's always text messaging or recording I've seen where...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2103396

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us. We're sorry to hear you weren't successful on the platform, and that you weren't provided with the support you were looking for.

We're disappointed to hear this feedback, although we're always looking to improve and will be sure to pass it along to our team. If there's anything we can do to change your experience, please send us a direct message on social media for prompt support.

ID
#3132743 Review #3132743 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mansfield, Texas

Refund

Yes I have no problem contacted somebody about my refund!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User's recommendation: Not to no pro.

View full review
1 comment
#2100273

Please check out this link if you have any questions about refunds: https://help.thumbtack.com/pros/topic-cost-and-payments-lh-pro/subtopic-refunds-lh. If you've already submitted a refund request, you should be notified via email about the status. Feel free to reach out to us directly if you have questions.

ID
#3126883 Review #3126883 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unhappy with no customer service only recordings

Tried resetting my password thru links sent to me by thumbtack but not one worked over a couple hours of attempts. Receiving the same links and getting same results..cant log in.

User's recommendation: Its impossible to speak with an agent, literally!

View full review
1 comment
#2100272

Hi Gee, we just noticed and responded to your other review as well. Once more, we really want to encourage you to message us on social media as soon as possible, so that we can troubleshoot this password issue with you, and make things right. We hope to hear from you soon.

ID
#3121811 Review #3121811 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sacramento, California
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution