Customer Service Absence Review

This company is a scam!!! I sent 10 quotes and gave a way below average quote and NOTHING!!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY ITS A SCAM TO NICKEL AND DIME A NEW BUSINESS WITH NO HOPE IF GETTING CLIENTS !!!!
View full review
ID
#549917 Review #549917 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Actual user and our issues with thumbtack.com

The way thumbtack works is interesting. ANYONE and I mean ANYONE, can request a "bid". On their site it states clearly in step 3: - You pay only when you send a quote with Thumbtack Credits Here's an interesting scenario we experience: 1. John Doe requests a logo design 2. We respond with a quote (we have to pay for this) 3. No response from John Doe Now, we are a professional logo design company having done thousands of logos with 100% satisfaction and 100% money back guarantee, so not getting a single response is pretty weird. Here's the kicker, ANYONE, even our competition can request a QUOTE! :) Imagine some unethical "provider" out there asking for a logo design just so you waste money! That's what we did then left thumbtack.com There are too many fraudulent ways to conduct business on Thumbtack.com so until we see some MAJOR changes on how they do business, we'll keep away from them. John P. Ramos Our portfolio below to show our work: http://www.intelliplans.com/design-print/logo-designs-portfolio.html
View full review
2 comments
#1004521

I completely agree with you and glad that you have posted this. The fact that you have to pay for quotes is absurd. Thank you

#889019

This is the 4th time I'm hearing this. I myself need to stay away from them

View more comments (1)
ID
#549200 Review #549200 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor customer response

We advertise on Thumbtack for several months. Our rates a better than most of the competition and online reputation ia outstanding. Thumbtack is not a scam. However the users are not ethical. They submit a request for a job, and then view your quote and don't respond. Nothing, like you are hired or you are not hired, most likely customers are not aware that we pay money for leads. This is frustrating. Dropped Thumbtack off my list. Waste of $500+ and aquired only 4 customers. Google adwords and yelp are much more effective in conversations than thumbtack. Do nit recommend. No phone numbers available from customers = no conversion.
View full review
ID
#549027 Review #549027 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California
Service
Thumbtack Leads
Pros
  • Idea
Cons
  • Fake leads
  • Not phone verified customers
Reason of review
Poor customer communication
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Thumbtack - Quote Request Review from Los Angeles, California

I have submitted 3 quotes and got 0 jobs or responses scam dont.do it.
View full review
2 comments
#889828

You have to try to do more then 3. If you bid 10 jobs and get 3 then you are doing something right.

I'm not saying thumbtack is a scam or not but have to put more effort into it. You can't go by three jobs and think you will get every single one

#892753
@PissedConsumer889828

I have bid on 11 jobs so far and not one response.

View more comments (1)
ID
#548787 Review #548787 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California

I've had 2 businesses on thumbtack

Yet I have never had a reply from any customers. I even went as far as to basically give my product away for free just to see if I'd receive a response. NOTHING!! I'm not too sure as to how thumb tack operates but I think that someone should investigate this company. Not to mention when you become a member you have to be very specific as to what your business is and offers. Yet they send nothing that has to do with your business specifics. They should change their policies and only charge you if you receive the job that the consumer is requesting a bid for. I can say that I won't be dealing with this company. Thumbtack is a complete SCAM!!
View full review
2 comments
#909799

Love to see this site remove replies. Just as crooked ans thumbtack it seems.

#888524

The way thumbtack works is interesting. ANYONE and I mean ANYONE, can request a "bid".

On their site it states clearly in step 3:

- You pay only when you send a quote with Thumbtack Credits

Here's an interesting scenario we experience:

1.

John Doe requests a logo design

2. We respond with a quote (we have to pay for this) 3. No response from John Doe Now, we are a professional logo design company having done thousands of logos with 100% satisfaction and 100% money back guarantee, so not getting a single response is pretty weird. Here's the kicker, ANYONE, even our competition can request a QUOTE!

:) Imagine some unethical "provider" out there asking for a logo design just so you waste money! That's what we did then left thumbtack.com There are too many fraudulent ways to conduct business on Thumbtack.com so until we see some MAJOR changes on how they do business, we'll keep away from them.

John P. Ramos Our portfolio below to show our work: http://www.intelliplans.com/design-print/logo-designs-portfolio.html

View more comments (1)
ID
#548511 Review #548511 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Florida, United States
Cons
  • Awful
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

Service Quotes Review

I feel as though thumbtack encouraged people to fill out questions and ask for quotes who are not really interested in the service.it costs me as a worker everytime I put in a quote most ppl doesnt leave # a sign of no interest. I think its a scam
View full review
ID
#548166 Review #548166 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Thumbtack - Unprofessional Contractor Review from Houston, Texas

Thumbtack - Unprofessional Contractor Review from Houston, Texas
Got a contractor from here and he was awful!!! His job was garbage and he knew it. He didn't even come back for his remaining balance. He charged us more than he quoted then took two weeks when promised 4 days to complete. After several times of explaining to him what we were looking for and what we found wrong with the job he had already done...he still didn't finish. This guy is a scam!!!
View full review
ID
#547955 Review #547955 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas

Thumbtack is a scam!!!!! its robbing the workers blind

thumbtack is a scam man, ill bet any amount of money they pay people to put up posts needing work done to get the quotes in, quotes that you have to pay for unless the person comes directly to you supposedly. a video editing gig is roughly ten bucks a quote. a simple...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#897089

Same issue, with me !!!!!

ID
#547734 Review #547734 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Seems like a scam

I've submitted for more than 20 clients and have only gotten 1 and It seems kind of suspicious that you have to pay but I understand that to an extent, but when a customer just "views" your request then you lose money that you CAN'T get back then its a problem. with that being said if you can find a better resource to promote your business than I suggest you start looking because THUMBTACK is just another scam and another thieving middle man and its a freaking money pit. with the money I've invested is probably the money I would have gotten from an ACTUAL client.
View full review
ID
#547372 Review #547372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saginaw, Michigan

Bogus Clients & False Quotes

Since 2009, I've been with thumbtack and had one client without paying for credit. My reviews are real placed on thumbtack for other free service websites. When they added credit to pay for bids is b****t. You paying for some bogus client info. I've researched names, addresses and phone numbers...THEY DON'T EXIST! In Today's market, its hard to make a living as a independent small home business owner. I'm a Certified Interior Decorator and will take my chances with Craigslist or other free websites. So don't waste your time placing your business here. Thank you and I hope this helps others.
View full review
4 comments
#896770

agreed... Thumbtack is a total scam.

I got one response in 3 years. I have sent out 5 bids. I think they post fake job requests which -- THEY NEED TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS!!!! I am glad this site exists.

I read you are an interior designer. I am a web designer and have had my own business for 15 yrs.

I am always busy... and thought thumbtack would be another way to get projects.

I will stick to having great Yelp reviews which brings me a steady stream of clients.

Here is a great tip for you -- check out the micro businesses starting up in the East Bay and SF that support Air bnb hosts.

http://www.sfgate.com/business/article/Airbnb-spawns-array-of-companies-to-aid-hosts-528****.php This article will make it very clear where your skills come in. i just read it yesterday I am an entrepreneur and excited at the new opportunities we can create in the new economy.

#888800

I had 1 awful client from thumbtack. I layout all the estimated time, fees and payment schedule on my quote...and once the project started he insulted me for how much time I spent and threaten me to finish the project.

He didn't pay for my time I spent on the project. I rather have no clients than to deal with clients trying to get work done for free...and on top of that the client threatening m! I will not use this type of service in the future.

Most of the clients are not willing to pay and flaky....not genuine people. Good luck to everyone.

#885422

I'm starting to believe u. I've went to one job got it in a week.

Second person kept bs me. Wasted my day.

#884948

I have gotten plenty of work so maybe it was your reviews that hurt you. I only started 2 weeks ago landed 3 jobs so I was skeptical at first but nope am very pleased.

If you stayed for 5-6 years can't be that bad.

I'm apart of a lot of networks you need to be invited into.

View more comments (3)
ID
#545813 Review #545813 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Deleted my account due to background check I paid for.

Read the small print if there is any. I have been using Thumbtack for over 6 months now. I have been able to bid and get many jobs. I had the customers send in reviews if they liked my work. Thumbtack sent me an option to get a seal of approval from them by paying for...
View full review
View full review
22 comments
#1802374

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon! Regards Hannah Flack

View more comments
ID
#545255 Review #545255 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Worth, Texas
Reason of review
paying for a background check
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Either make everyone do a background check before sending quotes and getting jobs or change policy for older convictions that a person did so many years ago.People do make mistakes and do stay out of trouble.

Shoddy incomplete service, inability to delete account

Over two years ago in a city in which i no longer live, i used Thumbtack to find someone to mount a flat screen tv and to hook that tv and two others to the existing comcast triple play in the house. The "service" provider mounted the tv, hooked it up and left. The...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#1483017

listen kk, you are an idiot. Thumbtack is a pile of garbage website that solicites your personal information and it is impossible to delete the account as of 2018

View more comments
ID
#545162 Review #545162 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Money Refund Request Review

I have use thumbtack several time and I have get no response , you guys never send a proof the costumer saw my quote I want my money back
View full review
ID
#543685 Review #543685 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hyattsville, Maryland
New Reviewer

Thumbtack - Leads Review from Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Just so everyone knows, I'm a computer programmer. I understand the vulnerability of many online websites. Thumbtacks business model is built to take advantage of the service provider plain and simple. It's not a "scam" but the way they make money by charging service provider to apply per lead, having intentionally vague lead forms forcing venders to ask more questions s most likely a part of it. Thumbtack is built to take leads from google and turn them into profit right away. It has potential to be great, but the main intention and goal of the website is to make as much money as quickly as possible. The sad part is that the end users and service providers suffer. Back to the part about being a programmer everyone should know that there are plenty of companies out there who are posting jobs on thumbtack only for you to apply and so they steal your contact information. The worst part is that your paying for that. Plain and simple, thumbtack is not a service your recommend to your friends and family, it is simple an extension of google Adwords that allows google to turn a $10/lead into a $20/lead by having multiple service providers bid on a lead they recieved first from Adwords. It's genius but it is far from being the best service in this category.
View full review
1 comment
#881554

Agreed. I signed up two days ago for my business and have gotten several "leads" but the info from the potential client input on their form is too vague to give an accurate quote or makes no sense.

For example, My profile says I will tend bar at events. One client lead asks for supplies for the bar and my bartending service, but says the venue (a hotel) will pay. Normally, at events in hotels, the hotel supplies the staff and all necessary items for a bar. If it's a private venue, then the host would supply the items and just pay the bartender.

So if I want to respond, Thumbtack requires me to BID (without verifying what is expected to be included) and I am to pay $3.33 by credit card to make this response.

Perhaps if it was under a dollar, I would try it, but I cannot justify paying such fees just to see if this is even a job I can work with.

ID
#542850 Review #542850 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Service
Thumbtack Leads

Don't Trust Thumbtacks Selective Reviews

Thumbtack only investigates poor reviews on contractors to see if the reviewer is real and actually had work done by said contractor. I proved I was a real person and sent copies of the invoice to show work was done along with proof of why I was a dissatisfied...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#904475

Per thumbtack, they let you bring your own reviews of jobs you supposedly done before being a member of thumbtack:

http://support.thumbtack.com/hc/en-us/articles/20054****-How-do-I-get-reviews-

Someone made a facebook page where people can post their issues with thumbtack as well:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thumbtack-Complaints/495117****92208

I've read several complaining about their negative reviews being removed.

I haven't posted my review of the concrete contractor that scammed me yet but talking to thumbtack on the phone, I get the feeling that my negative will be removed if I post one.

If you have facebook, you might post a link to pissedconsumer on the facebook page. (I don't have facebook myself)

ID
#542845 Review #542845 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey
  • 1
  • ...
  • 229
  • 230
  • 231
  • 232
  • 233
  • ...
  • 240