New Reviewer

Cancellation

This is my 4th time reaching out about canceling and you guys sending us direct unreachable leads. The 800 number continues to say your in training. Can someone call me ASAP 310.962.4525
View full review
1 comment
#2064104

Hi Sabastian, we're sorry you haven't been able to get in touch with our support team over the phone. If you're still interested in deactivating your account, this link will help: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/deactivate-my-account. We're happy to support you through our social media channels if you can reach out directly, so that we can review those leads for you.

ID
#2744910 Review #2744910 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Milpitas, California

Questions about account

They get you leads, but they should not charge you until you get the Job. Don't like that they charge you regardless, they make money only when you get the Job that's how It should be. It's not fair to the DJs for paying. They should work on that
View full review
1 comment
#2064082

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, we value your feedback so that we can keep improving. Check out our spending guide for tips on winning more jobs: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/spending-guide.

ID
#2744166 Review #2744166 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • I feel like thumbtack stole my money
Loss
$70
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Urgent fraud issue

One of your pros have disappeared with our money. No job done. On July 27th, supreme Appliance Service came out to look at our refrigerator. We were told that it needs a compressor. In order to pursue the job, the pro requested we pay for the part. Which we did. An amount of $460.06. He was supposed contact us this past Monday to confirm when the part would be in and when he would do the job. We have been contacting him since Monday via text and calls. No response. The persons name as he told us is Todd. In the attached images you will also see his Venmo details.
View full review
1 comment
#2064075

Hi Lyndsay, we're so sorry to hear about this. The experience you've shared is concerning to our team, we want to help you get a resolution.

If you haven't already, please fill out this report with more details about your project: https://help.thumbtack.com/report-a-concern.

We have a Trust and Safety Team that is committed to helping our customers when something like this happens. After you submit your report, our team will review the details and reach out to you within 2-3 business days.

ID
#2741617 Review #2741617 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Alpharetta, Georgia

My lead is confirmed and paid

My lead I paid for through Thumbtack. The client has hired me. Thumbtack keep putting my lead out there for other pros to put quotes on. I sent them a email through their support team of this problem. Still no reply. This is day 2 more pros are sending quotes out. This is extremely bad for other pros. To think this is a lead when it is NOT.

User's recommendation: Be careful with thumtack.

View full review
1 comment
#2064069

Hi there, we sincerely apologize for the experience you had, but thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please reach out to us on any social media platform with your account information, we'll get this resolved for you.

ID
#2738809 Review #2738809 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Stop advertising my lead to other pros and me all over again. I paid for it. I was hired the client and I agree to do business. I have a mutual agreement on our meeting to start the job.

No response to clients just computer response back

I been charge for leads I didnt reply to and also the leads I reply to dont reflect how much I was charge for out my account Néed refund back in my account Thanks

User's recommendation: Customer service bad.

View full review
1 comment
#2064034

Hey there, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd love to help ensure your preferences are set and that you're receiving the leads you want.

If you'd like to try again, please contact us on any social media platform so that we can help. You're welcome to submit refund requests here for the leads you mentioned: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund.

ID
#2738552 Review #2738552 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Quality and responsiveness of leads without accountability

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Need to speak to someone in sales

Hi I believe, I am being charged for leads I'm not following up with. it seems by just opening to read the details of the event is enough to be charged, please call or send a number so I can speak to a person. after getting the cute "pissed Consumer" message I thought...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2064026

Thanks for reaching out, Joe. It sounds like your preferences may not be set for the jobs you want.

You can learn how to update your targeting preferences so that you're only getting leads for job types and times that you want here: https://help.thumbtack.com/pros/topic-targeting-preferences-lh-pro.

For any of those other leads you mentioned, you can submit refund requests here: https://help.thumbtack.com/pros/topic-cost-and-payments-lh-pro/subtopic-refunds-lh. If you'd still like to speak further with us, our support number is: 1 (866) 501-5809, or you're welcome to reach out through any of our social media channels.

ID
#2737937 Review #2737937 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

I turned off all my leads for the remainder of the mont but am still getting charges

I turned my leads off and I am still getting leads and still getting charged for leads I need the fixed ASAP like right now how can I actually speak with someone
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2063451

Hi David, we're sorry to hear about the experience you're having. This article will provide instructions to set the right preferences and availability for leads:https://help.thumbtack.com/pros/topic-targeting-preferences-lh-pro.

Through this link you can begin to submit refunds as well: https://help.thumbtack.com/pros/topic-cost-and-payments-lh-pro/subtopic-refunds-lh. If you'd still like to get in touch with our support team over the phone, please contact us here: 1 (866) 501-5809.

ID
#2737385 Review #2737385 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$33
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Poor Customer Service

Update by user Aug 03, 2021

No help

Original review posted by user Aug 02, 2021
Again I am trying to contact this company for unauthorized charges I have tried numerous times to contact customer servide what a joke.

User's recommendation: Dont' deal with them.

View full review
1 comment
#2063379

Thanks for this feedback, we're glad you reached out. You shouldn't pay for leads that don't fit your preferences or the types of jobs you want.

This is the quickest way to submit refund requests: https://help.thumbtack.com/article/how-to-request-a-refund. You're also welcome to reach out to our team through any social media channel so that we can assist.

ID
#2733875 Review #2733875 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Not professional company
  • Having to pay for quotes
Loss
$9
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

When I created my account the thumbtack ‘name’ they assign for my account is some random name. not my name.

when I created my account the thumbtack name they assign for my account is some random name. not my name.

User's recommendation: when I created my account the thumbtack ‘name’ they assign for my account is some random name. not my name.

View full review
1 comment
#2063372

Uva, thank you for letting us know, this doesn't sound right. Please get in touch with us here: https://help.thumbtack.com/contact-thumbtack or through any of our social media channels so that we can look further into this for you and help get the account name changed.

ID
#2731949 Review #2731949 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
correct the name on my account
New Reviewer

Money taken out of my account

They only put you to talk to a machine Thumbtack dont anwser. I have send them imail phone calls etc. I am waithing for a call from this company
View full review
ID
#2727000 Review #2727000 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Unhappy with payment for lead

Lead costs are not aligned with jobs. Paying the same for fixing 1 drawer under cabinet repair and refacing a kitchen is not right. Also, having to go through writing a complaint and waiting for a response is TOO much of a process, I liked talking to a representative. In addition I have to change my distance preference almost every day.for
View full review
1 comment
#2040050

We're sorry for any trouble you've had contacting our team to address your concerns. We always value your feedback on pricing so that we can better understand your needs.

We'd welcome you to reach out to us via one of our social media channels and we can jump in with you to address your concerns and pass your feedback along to our team. We hope to help better your experience in the future.

ID
#2717168 Review #2717168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
La Mesa, California
New Reviewer

Lead charges

I scheduled an appt 26 miles away and you charged me $48+. The customer canceled my appt and hired someone else.
View full review
ID
#2715573 Review #2715573 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE SERVICE TO VENDORS

I get contacted by leads from different states where I cannot serve. I get charged by Thumbtack for being contacted by leads I cannot serve. I try to request refund but nothing happens. I try to contact customer service, it keeps sending me back to "automated" text service by saying that a live person will be chatting with you. There is no way for the vendor to break cycle as the automated chat keeps sending you to the same page where you originally requested refund and nothing happened. requested refun buut notheirn happenedthe

User's recommendation: DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THUMBTACK.

View full review
1 comment
#2039754

We're sorry for any trouble you had communicating with our team about your refund. We have live agents ready to help via our social media channels and we welcome you to reach out with any questions about your refund status.

We also want to be sure you're getting leads that match your services. We can take some time to go over your account with you when you reach out and hope to help better your experience.

ID
#2715024 Review #2715024 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • All the fraudulent acts
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Full refund

No response from thumbtack

Havent had a Response from thumbtack on the issue and employees not having a background check and owners having others run background check for them
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2039332

We're sorry for any trouble you've had hearing back from our team about your request. You can always contact us via one of our social media channels and we're happy to jump in with you to answer any questions you have.

We offer free background checks to all of the pros on Thumbtack. Only the owner of the account can take a background check and we'll apply a badge to their account if they've passed.

If you have any other questions about background checks and our policies, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We'll be happy to help!

ID
#2709795 Review #2709795 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

Thumbtack - Complaint
I hired Darius moye of Dream home solutions back January to remodel my bathroom. He totally destroyed it. I had to have another contractor out and redo my entire bathroom. I brought all new tub... sink and toilet. I had to rebuy all because he did not know how to install. I had a full working bathroom before he started and ended up with a non working bathroom plus water damages...i am trying to locate him to take him to court. He is a disgrace to any home improvement business.

User's recommendation: Avoid this awful company like Covid.

View full review
ID
#2708195 Review #2708195 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dallas, Texas